Outlander Book Review (Book Challenge 2015)

Hello my fellow book nerds! If you are anything like me, you have begun your reading journey this new year after a long (and somewhat lazy) reading break/ slump. Maybe it was school, work, or love (insert wink). Whatever your reason, you’re here now and that’s all that matters

My first task of the new year was to sign myself up for possible success (or failure)  and participate in the GoodReads book challenge of 2015. After countless a BookTuber ranted about it, I decided to jump on the band wagon. “But Emily, what is the book challenge?” Oh my clueless darlings. The book challenge is a wonderful and mystical tool to basically read as many books as you set a goal for yourself this year. You can update your reviews and such as you go along. Not that hard right? Nope.

So what is your goal, Emily?” Glad you asked! I set my goal this year for 55 books. Not asking much this year because of my long, drawn-out slump.

Anyway, I started off this year reading Outlander, the 1990’s novel by Diane Gabaldon which admittedly I didn’t hear about until the TV show came out and everyone was talking about it. I haven’t seen the show, nor do I plan to. Oh, don’t think I’m pretentious! I just don’t have cable. So I am perfectly content with indulging my mind with the novels.

The story is set in the 1940’s in the post- World War era. I find this highly fascinating, for some reason. The protagonist is 20- something War nurse Claire Randall. She and  her husband, Frank, are “vacationing” in the Scottish Highlands. Yay Scotland! They (and by they, I mean Frank) are searching for Frank’s extremely old ancestor Captain Jack Randall (of the 18th century variety).

Claire becomes bored and restless, and feeds her botany addiction with the heather and other foreign Scottish plants. While she searches, she soon discovers a mystical “witches” ceremony that opens up a portal in time. She ends up in Captain Randall’s time looking very out of place. Unfortunately for Claire, luck just isn’t on her side in this book. She happens to run into Captain Randall, who sees her skimpy modern outfit and thinks she a hoe. Worse, a wench.

Luckily a Scot comes to her rescue! But then hits her in the head with a rock. Okay, I understand that this is the Highlands and they aren’t very civilized but.. really? Really? When Claire wakes up, she is surrounded by a bunch of Scottish men. Soldiers, even. Sounds like my kind of place. It’s there, in a dirty cottage, when the leader (Dougal Mackenzie, my man!) assigns her to the one, the only, JAMIE FRASER. And by assign, I mean she sets up the rest of the book for basically Claire putting Jamie back together again. I think it’s sweet, and a breath of fresh air from the basic hero/ damsel in distress (although that DOES happen a time or two).

This whole book basically pushes them together in a forbidden love type affair. After all, Claire is still married to Frank. Countless times, she tries to escape the Scottish clutches and go back to her old life… And… Things ensue. I won’t ruin the end of the book for you, people. Don’t worry! I’m not THAT type of book-blogger.

This book is honestly the best book I’ve read in a really long time. Every word, every antic, every kiss, had me utterly captivated. It seriously gave me the feels. (You may think I’m joking, but… Honestly.) I wanted to read more, and felt really disappointed after the (steamy) ending scene. I ordered Dragonfly in Amber yesterday so, thats exciting!

There are a few book warnings that surround this book, however. There are a LOT of intimate scenes! If you don’t know what I mean by that.. you probably shouldn’t be reading this book in the first place..) Also, I understand it is set in the 18th century for most of the book, and it was common to treat women a certain way but on a few accounts, it got rather ridiculous. Lots of rape (and not just women *WARNING*) and a few “correction” scenes. Overall, that part wasn’t too bad. But if that stuff makes you uncomfortable then I highly suggest to bear it’s. I say that because the plot, characters and language Ms. Gabaldon uses is really worth reading.

Overall, I love this book, and plan to continue the series. So, as my rating system I shall use hearts. I give Outlander by Diane Gabaldon 5/5 <3!

Be sure to read lots and come back for more posts!

Love, Emily xo

Leave a comment